Operational Structure

The Service has three (3) Directorates, Eight Zonal offices, Thirty-Six State Commands & Federal Capital Territory and Immigration offices in the 774 local government areas.

The three Directorates are:

  1. Finance, Administration & Technical Services (FATS)
  2. Operations
  3. Investigation, Inspectorate and Enforcement (IIE)


  1. Finance, Administration & Technical Services (FATS) Directorate
  2. Its primary role is that of providing the necessary financial, administrative and technical support for the smooth running of the service. It also generates policy in its area of responsibilities.

  3. Operations Directorate
  4. Under this directorate are the following divisions:

    Passport division

    Land Border patrol division

    Marine border patrol division

    Air border patrol division

    Operations division

    ECOWAS division

    African Affairs and multilateral division

    It is responsible for the issuance of various immigration facilities, such as:


    Other functions of the Operations directorate include:

    Implementation of multilateral and bilateral agreements

    Manning of all airports, seaports and land borders for the purpose of control of admission and departure of persons from Nigeria

    Constant patrol of Nigeria’s aerial, coastal and land borders.

  5. Investigation, Inspectorate and Enforcement (IIE) Directorate
  6. This directorate is charged with the responsibility for investigating breaches of Nigeria’s extant Immigration Laws. Also the directorate prepares eligibility briefs on applicants seeking to obtain Nigerian citizenship. The directorate enforces repatriation and deportation orders.

    Under this directorate are the following divisions:

    Anti human trafficking division

    Repatriation and deportation division

    Aliens control division

    Investigation division

    Investigation and Aliens Control :

    • Detection, screening and investigation of violations and abuses of Immigration Laws and Regulations



    Nigerian Visas are obtained in the Countries where applicants are domiciled or the nearest Nigerian Mission nearest to their Countries of residence.

Copyright 2005 - 2016 Nigeria Immigration Service Newworks Nigeria
This site is best viewed with Internet Explorer 7, Firefox 3 and above